FINALLY, SOME HOPE FOR COUNTLESS WOUNDED PEOPLE: OUR MEDICAL HELP

Back to Life has a lot of experience in organizing and conducting health camps for the poorest of the poor – and that even in very inaccessible areas. The planning of these camps is under normal conditions carried out with a certain lead time to ensure a smooth process through detailed preparation which enables the treatment of as many patients as possible.

 

Sindupalchok – a health camp in a world completely destroyed

 Approximately 90 km north of Kathmandu lays the mountain region Sindupalchok. 90 % of these mountain villages were destroyed leaving only piles of rubble, the simple stone houses plastered with clay could not withstand the eruptions. Whole mountaintops are just gone, whole valleys were buried under landslides, who tore complete villages with them on their way into the depths. Up to our arrival no help came here since all access roads were blocked. The survivors only had what they could salvage from the rubble and they had to rescue the injured and to retrieve the death all alone without any medical help. The emergency was indescribable.

Through a cooperation with a government agency, we succeeded on the fourth day after the earthquake – with a helicopter full of medical supplies as well as doctors and paramedics – to get to those people in need, so that the 11-members strong medical team was able to care for the seriously injured in a period of 7 days. Most suffered severe head injuries and fractures, cuts and deep wounds. The experienced doctors were shocked by the extent of the emergency although they already knew to handle difficult situations due to our health camps. Without any rest they treated more than 1,000 victims.

 

Bhaktapur

We organized an Ayurvedic Health Camp at the heavily damaged city of Bhaktapur with a focus on pregnant women, nursing mothers and babies. Some of the women had lost everything and lived for weeks under tarpaulins. Many had no regular meals.

For this purpose, we formed a team of doctors of the “Ayurvedic Hospital in Bhaktapur” and organized ayurvedic juices, pastes, tonics, food supplements as well as baby food for babies whose mothers were not able to breastfeed. These natural foods were used for strengthening and bridging the hardest time. The Health Camps gave the doctors the opportunity to offer their assistance to women for their upcoming births. With this relief campaign we were able to directly reach 300 needy families in one day.

 

Doctors without medicine – fast support for the hospital in Shanku

While the 11-members strong team was on its way to Sindhupalchok, our project managers were on their way to the destroyed city Sankhu. This town is just 16 km outside the capital in the foothills of the Kathmandu valley and it is easily accessible under normal circumstances. But it became a ride through destroyed villages. Up to 90 % of the houses at the old Bazaar of Sankhu were reduced to rubble and everywhere were many injured people and deaths to mourn about. 

They wanted to reach the hospital Sushma Koirala Memorial Hospital Nepal (SKMH), which is specialized on burning injuries, cleft surgeries and malformations and which contributes a great service for the impoverished population of Nepal. In the last few years we spent a lot of time here, because we quite often accommodated our patients at the SKMH – such as the children we care for: Kushi, Anil, Savita and Bhim…

After the catastrophe the intact hospital was the only hope for the severely affected villagers and people from the region. But it was completely overcrowded with injured people and both, doctors and nursing staff, worked at full speed. They could hardly withstand the onslaught of the needy people. Our project managers inquired which assistance was most importantly needed at the hospital and they got a list of medication. Too few products were available, and the budget of the hospital was exhausted. The treatment would have gotten restricted without external support. Back in Kathmandu, our team organized right away everything that was needed and delivered the packages as fast as possible to the SKMH.

This may be of interest to you:

ENDLICH HOFFNUNG FÜR UNZÄHLIGE VERWUNDETE: UNSERE MEDIZINISCHE HILFEN

Back to Life hat viel Erfahrung mit der Organisation und Durchführung von Healthcamps für die Ärmsten der Armen – und das zum Teil auch in äußerst unzu- gänglichen Gebieten. Die Planung dieser Camps erfolgt unter normalen Bedingungen mit einem gewissen zeitlichen Vorlauf, um durch detaillierte Vorbereitung einen reibungslosen Ablauf zu garantieren, der die Be- handlung möglichst vieler Patienten ermöglicht.

Sindhupalchok - Ein Healthcamp in einer völlig zerstörten Welt

Ca. 90 km nördlich von Kathmandu liegt die Bergregion Sindupalchok. 90% dieser Bergdörfer wurden zu Schutt- haufen, die einfachen lehmverfugten Steinhäuser konnten den Erschütterungen nicht standhalten. Ganze Bergkuppen sind nur noch Geröllhalden, ganze Siedlungen wurden von Erdrutschen auf ihrem Weg in die Tiefe verschüttet. Bis zu unserem Eintreffen kam keinerlei Hilfe, da sämtliche Zufahrtswege verschüttet waren. Die Überlebenden hatten nur, was sie aus den Trümmern retten konnten, und muss- ten ihre Verletzten und Toten alleine bergen, ohne jegliche medizinische Versorgung. Die Not war unbeschreiblich. 
Durch eine Kooperation mit einer Regierungsstelle ge- lang es uns, am vierten Tag nach dem Beben – mit einem Helikopter voller medizinischem Bedarf sowie Ärzten und Paramedics – zu den Bedürftigen vorzudringen, so dass das 11-köpfige Ärzteteam sich 7 Tage lang um die Schwer- verletzten kümmern konnte. Die meisten litten unter schlimmen Kopfverletzungen sowie Brüchen, Schnitten und tiefen Wunden. Die erfahrenen Ärzte – obwohl sie durch unsere Healthcamps schwierige Situationen kann- ten – waren geschockt über das Ausmaß der Not. Ohne Pause behandelten sie insgesamt über 1000 Opfer.

Bhaktapur

Wir organisierten ein ayurvedisches Healthcamp in der stark zerstörten Stadt Bhaktapur mit Fokus auf Schwangere, stillende Mütter und Babys. Ein Teil der Frauen hatte alles verloren und hauste seit Wochen unter Plastikplanen. Viele hatten keine regelmäßi- gen Mahlzeiten zu sich nehmen können.

Dazu bildeten wir ein Team aus Ärzten des „Ayurvedic Hospitals in Bhaktapur“ und besorgten ayurvedische Säfte, Pasten, Tonics, nahrungsergänzende Mittel sowie Babybrei für die Babys der Mütter, die nicht stillen konnten. Diese natürlichen Mittel dienten zur Stärkung und Überbrückung der Härtezeit. Das Healthcamp gab den Medizinern die Chance, den Frauen für die bevorstehenden Geburten Hilfe anzubieten. Mit dieser Hilfsaktion konnten wir an einem Tag 300 bedürftige Familien direkt erreichen. 

Ärzte ohne Medizin – Schnelle Unterstützung für das Hospital in Shanku

Während das 11-köpfige Ärzteteam nach Sindhupalchowk unterwegs war, hatten sich unsere Projektleiter auf den Weg in das zerstörte Sankhu gemacht. Eigentlich liegt die Ortschaft nur 16 km außerhalb der Hauptstadt im Seitenausläufer des Kathmandu-Tals und ist unter normalen Umständen schnell erreichbar. Doch es wurde zu einer Fahrt durch völlig zerstörte Ortschaften. Im alten Bazaar von Sankhu waren bis zu 90% der Häuser zu Schutt zerfallen und überall gab es viele Verletzte und Tote zu beklagen.

Ihr Ziel war das Krankenhaus Sushma Koirala Memorial Hospital Nepal (SKMH), das auf Verbrennungen, Spaltoperationen und Fehlbildungen spezialisiert ist und hervorragende Arbeit und große Dienste für die verarmte Bevölkerung Nepals leistet. Viel Zeit verbrachten wir in den vergangenen Jahren hier, weil wir immer wieder unsere Patienten im SKMH unterbringen – so wie die von uns betreuten Kinder Khushi, Anil, Savita und Bhim....

Nach dieser Katastrophe stellte das intakt gebliebene Krankenhaus für die schwer getroffenen Dorfbewohner und Menschen in der Umgebung die einzige Hoffnung dar. Doch es war völlig überfüllt mit Verletzten und sowohl Ärzte als auch das Pflegepersonal leisteten Arbeit im Akkord. Dem Ansturm der Bedürftigen konnte kaum standgehalten werden. Unsere Projektleiter erkundigten sich, welche Hilfe das Krankenhaus am dringendsten benötigen würde und sie erhielten eine Medikamentenliste. Zu wenige Präparate waren vorrätig, auch das Budget des Krankenhauses war aufgebraucht. Ohne externe Unterstützung hätte die Behandlung eingeschränkt werden müssen. Zurück in Kathmandu besorgte unser Team sofort alles Notwendige und lieferte die gefüllten Kartons so schnell wie möglich dem SKMH. 

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren: