FROM THE WEATHY HUNTING AREA TO THE RURAL AREAS

Chitwan is one of 75 districts in Nepal with more than 570,000 civilians living there. According to a legend, sadhus once came from near and far to meditate in the wooded land. The name Chitwan origins from the name of a former kingdom known as Chitra Sen. Putting together the two Nepali words “chitta” (heart) and “wan” (forest) is means “the heart of the forest”.

Since the end of the 19th century, Chitwan was the preferred hunting ground for the ruling class of Nepal during the winter season. Until the 1950s, the feudal lords shot hundreds of tigers, rhinos, leopards and bears within just a few months. Thereafter, the region was partially opened for the settlement of poor farmers who were looking for fertile farmland. This meant an extreme additional burden for the natural environment, as the poaching massively increased. Finally, the National park was founded in 1973 and in 1984 the region was declared a World Cultural Heritage.

The population of the different regions of Chitwan show no homogeneity in culture, tradition and language, as they are coming from different tribes, some having been forcibly relocated: The Chepang, the Tamang and the Thaurs. Yet, what they all have in common is a life below the poverty line, characterized by lack of opportunity and exploitation. 

 

 

This may be of interest to you:

VOM REICHEN JAGDREVIER ZUM ARMENGEBIET

Chitwan ist einer von 75 Distrikten in Nepal mit über 570.000 Einwohnern. Der Legende nach kamen einst Sadhus von nah und fern, um in dem bewaldeten Land zu meditieren. Der Name Chitwan leitet sich aus dem Namen eines früheren Königreiches ab, welches als Chitra Sen bekannt war. Zusammengesetzt aus den nepalesichen Wörtern „chitta“ (Herz) und „wan“ (Wald) bedeutet es „das Herz des Waldes“.

Seit Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts war Chitwan für die herrschende Klasse Nepals während der Winterzeit das bevorzugte Jagdrevier. Bis in die 50er Jahre schossen die Feudalherren innerhalb weniger Monate jeweils hunderte von Tigern, Nashörnern, Leoparden und Bären. Danach wurde die Region teilweise zur Besiedelung für arme Farmer freigegeben, die auf der Suche nach fruchtbaren Ackerland waren. Dies bedeutete für die Fauna eine extreme zusätzliche Belastung, da die Wilderei massiv anstieg. 1973 wurde schließlich der National Park gegründet und 1984 schließlich zum Weltkulturerbe erklärt.

Die Bevölkerung der einzelnen Regionen Chitwans besitzt keine homoge Struktur in der Kultur, Tradition und Sprache, da sie sich aus verschiedenen teilweise zwangsumgesiedelten Stammesgruppen zusammensetzt: den Chepang, den Thamang und den Thaurs. Ihnen allen gemein ist ein Leben an oder unterhalb der Armutsgrenze, geprägt von Chancenlosigkeit und Ausbeutung.

 

 

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren: