SHE WAS NOT SPARED THE SECOND TIME: THE SCHOOL OF THAKALTAR

Due to the second major earthquake on May 12, the school in Thakaltar, which is sponsored by us, was severely damaged: One of three school buildings was no longer usable for teaching. We immediately promised to repair the premises as soon as possible. Because especially in this difficult situation it was of immanent importance that the traumatized children had a retreat, a place where they were welcomed with love and a place where they could play and to be a child again besides all tragedies. After all these terrible experiences they needed moments of happiness.

Since already 2011 we support 121 children in Thakaltar through direct sponsorship as well as the school with black boards, benches, tables, cabinets and adequate teaching and learning materials and, if necessary, with additional lessons. Thus all 365 schoolchildren do benefit from our help. Our focus is especially on girls, because they are particularly socially disadvantaged in this poor region. With the help of our funding as well as our agricultural programs and microcredit system the families are now able to regularly send their children to school.

After the earthquake lessons are being held in a tent school – until the reconstruction of the destroyed building and the expansion of the secondary education till 10th grade will be completed. For this the original single-storey building will be replaced by a new two-storey building with four instead of the former two classrooms.

A long-term cancellation of lessons would have had serious consequences for the students. They would have lost touch and their chances for a successful completion of their education would have been greatly diminished. The expansion till 10th grade is especially important for the children to offer a prospect of a qualified profession and an independent life. Ultimately the entire region will benefit from this. In addition, the alternative to continue the school would be far away: The nearest school that offers classes up to 10th grade is four hours of foot walk away.

 

This may be of interest to you:

BEIM ZWEITEN MAL BLIEB SIE NICHT VERSCHONT: DIE SCHULE VON THAKALTAR

Durch das zweite große Beben vom 12. Mai wurde die von uns geförderte Schule in Thakaltar erheblich beschädigt: Eines von drei Schulgebäuden war nicht mehr für den Unterricht nutzbar. Wir sagten umgehend zu, die Räumlichkeiten sobald wie möglich instand zu setzen. Denn gerade in dieser schweren Zeit war ein Rückzugsort für die traumatisierten Kinder notwendig, an dem sie mit Liebe aufgefangen werden konnten und abseits aller Tragödien spielen und Kind sein durften. Nach all diesen schrecklichen Ereignissen brauchten sie Momente der Fröhlichkeit.

Schon seit 2011 unterstützen wir in Thakaltar 121 Kinder direkt über Stipendien sowie die Schule mit Tafeln, Bänken, Tischen, Schränken und ausreichend Lehr- und Lernmaterialien sowie bei Bedarf mit zusätzlichen Unterrichtseinheiten. Auf diese Weise profitieren alle 365 Schulkindern von unseren Hilfsleistungen. Unser Fokus liegt hier besonders auf den Mädchen, weil sie in dieser armen Region sozial besonders benachteiligt sind. Die Familien sind nun durch unsere Förderung sowie unsere Landwirtschaftsprogramme und Mikrokredite in der Lage, ihre Kinder regelmäßig zur Schule zu schicken.

Nach den Beben erfolgte die Überbrückung mit einer Zeltschule – bis der Wiederaufbau des zerstörten Gebäudes und der Ausbau der Sekundarschule bis zur 10. Klasse abgeschlossen sein wird. Dafür wird das ursprüngliche einstöckige Gebäude durch ein neues mit zwei Stockwerken und sechs statt zwei Klassenräumen ersetzt werden.

Ein langfristiger Ausfall des Unterrichts hätte für die Schüler ernsthafte Folgen gehabt. Sie hätten den Anschluss verloren und ihre Chancen auf einen erfolgreichen Abschluss ihrer Ausbildung wären stark gesunken. Der Aus- bau bis zur 10. Klasse ist vor allem wichtig, um den Kindern die Aussicht auf einen qualifizierten Beruf und ein selbstbestimmtes Leben zu bieten. Davon wird letztlich die ganze Region profitieren. Zudem wäre eine alter- native Möglichkeit, die Schullaufbahn fortzuführen, weit entfernt: Die nächste Schule, die Unterricht bis zur 10. Klasse anbietet, ist vier Stunden Fußmarsch entfernt.

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren: