NEPAL – ONE OF THE POOREST COUNTRIES OF THE WORLD

The South Asian landlocked country of Nepal has been a republic since 2008, after the monarchy was abolished after 10 years of civil war (1996-2006). Only since 2015 the country has an official constitution, which is however controversial, because it disadvantages some ethnic minorities. Nepal is considered to be one of the poorest countries in the world – the majority of its almost 30 million citizens live on less than US$ 2 on income per day, which is well below the poverty line.

The prevailing religion is Hinduism with about 80 per cent of the population, another 9 per cent are Buddhists, about 4 per cent Muslims and about 1.4 per cent Chistians. In the north, the country borders to China – in the east, south and west to India. There is a huge economic dependency on India, which got Nepal at the limits of its capacity during the supply crisis of 2015 and 2016. The export of fuels and other goods which had been stopped by India caused that almost the entire industry as well as large parts of the transport industry are bankrupt.

There are more than 100 different ethnic groups and castes in the country and more than 124 languages and dialects. This cultural diversity also causes tensions among the population and leads to riots.

The capital city Kathmandu with its approximately 1,000,000 million citizens is mainly the political and cultural centre of the country. It is the largest city in Nepal and attracts many poor people from the villages of the country, because the people hope for better job opportunities. Here as well as in the rest of the country, tourism is one of the most important sources of income. There are time-honoured temples and breath-taking trekking routes. After the devastating earthquake in spring 2015 with approximately 9,000 fatalities, the tourism broke down, which worsened the supply situation and made the reconstruction of the country even more difficult. 

This may be of interest to you:

NEPAL – EINES DER ÄRMSTEN LÄNDER DER WELT

Der südasiatische Binnenstatt Nepal ist seit 2008 eine Republik, nachdem die Monarchie nach einem 10-jährigem Bürgerkrieg (1996-2006) abgeschafft worden war. Erst seit 2015 gibt es eine offizielle Verfassung, die jedoch umstritten ist, da sie einige ethnische Minderheiten benachteiligt. Nepal gilt als eines der ärmsten Länder der Welt ­– die Mehrzahl seiner fast 30 Millionen Bewohner lebt von weniger als 2 Dollar Einkommen pro Tag weit unterhalb der Armutsgrenze.

Die vorherrschende Religion ist der Hinduismus mit ca. 80% der Bevölkerung, weitere 9% sind Buddhisten, ca. 4% Muslime und ca. 1,4% Christen. Im Norden grenzt das Land an China – im Osten, Süden und Westen an Indien. Vor allem zu Indien besteht eine große wirtschaftliche Abhängigkeit, was Nepal im Rahmen der Versorgungskrise von 2015 und 2016 an die Grenze seiner Belastbarkeit bringt. Denn der von Indien gestoppte Export von Brennstoffen und weiteren Gütern führt dazu, dass nahezu die komplette Industrie sowie große Teile des Transportwesens am Boden liegen.

Im Land existieren über 100 unterschiedliche ethnische Gruppierungen und Kasten sowie 124 gezählte Sprachen und Dialekte. Diese kulturelle Vielfalt sorgt immer wieder auch für Spannungen unter der Bevölkerung und führt zu Ausschreitungen.

Als politisches und kulturelles Zentrum fungiert die Hauptstadt Kathmandu mit ca. 1.000.000 Millionen Einwohnern. Sie ist die größte Stadt des Landes und wirkt wie ein Magnet auf die armen Menschen aus den Dörfern des Landes, die sich hier besser Jobchancen erhoffen. Der Tourismus ist hier wie auch im Rest des Landes eine der wichtigsten Einnahmequellen. Es locken altehrwürdige Tempelanlagen und atemberaubende Trekkingrouten. Nach den verheerenden Erdbeben im Frühjahr 2015 mit ca. 9000 Toten ist dieser stark zurückgegangen, was die Versorgungssituation vor Ort sowie auch den Wiederaufbau zusätzlich erschwert.

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren: