OUR NEW PROJECT AREA NUWAKOT – A REGION IN THE EPICENTRE OF DISASTER

When the big earthquakes in spring 2015 led Nepal to destruction, Nowakot was especially hard hit. The mountainous region is located about 75 km north of Kathmandu and very hard to reach. The simple house constructions could not withstand the eruptions and just collapsed above the heads of the people. Countless were injured and a total of about 1,100 died. 30,000 houses were destroyed. Every village of Nuwakot can now tell at least one sad story about the unbearable desperation and suffering.

The earthquakes in Nuwakot claimed many sacrifices: human lives, homes, the few possessions, and in some cases the vital seed and breeding animals. The livelihood of thousands of people was eradicated within just seconds. From that moment on they fought and fight for their bare survival. The support of the government did not reach this far, medical help did not take place or was poor.

We decided, that Nuwakot would become our new project area. Even though our work is always based on the concept of “helping others help themselves”, we could not close our eyes to the plight and devastation of these people. We will gradually expand our support to bring the region "back to life". 

This may be of interest to you:

UNSER NEUES PROJEKTGEBIET: DIE KATASTROPHENREGION NUWAKOT

Als die großen Erdbeben im Frühjahr 2015 Nepal in das Verderben führten, traf es die schwer erreichbare Bergregion Nuwakot, 75 km nördlich von Kathmandu gelegen, besonders unbarmherzig. Die einfachen Häuser der Menschen hatten den Erschütterungswellen nichts entgegenzusetzen und fielen einfach über den Köpfen der Menschen zusammen. Es gab unzählige Verletzte und insgesamt ca. 1000 Tote zu beklagen, ganze 30.000 Häuser wurden komplett zerstört. Jedes Dorf in Nowakot hat nun traurige Geschichten zu erzählen, die von furchtbarer Verzweiflung und unsäglichem Leid geprägt sind. 

Die Beben forderten in Nuwakot schlimme Opfer: Menschenleben, die Zuhause, die wenigen Besitztümer sowie zum Teil auch das überlebenswichtige Saatgut und die Zuchttiere. Die Existenzgrundlagen tausender von Menschen wurden innerhalb von Sekunden ausradiert. Fortan kämpfen sie um ihr blankes Überleben. Staatliche Unterstützung erreichte diese Menschen so gut wie gar nicht, medizinische Hilfen fanden nicht statt oder waren nur mangelhaft.

Wir entschlossen uns nun, Nuwakot zu unserem neuem Projektgebiet zu machen. Denn auch wenn unsere Arbeit prinzipiell immer auf dem Konzept „Hilfe zur Selbsthilfe“ aufbaut, konnten wir unseren Blick vor der Not dieser Menschen nicht verschließen. Wir werden nach und nach unsere Unterstützung ausbauen, um die Region zurück ins Leben zu bringen.

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren: