IMPORTANT NOTE REGARDING DONATION RECEIPT

As a non-profit organization, Back to Life is entitled to issue a tax-deductable receipt for your donation. You can submit this receipt to the competent tax office during your tax return. In case you are donating from a foreign country, please contact your competent tax office to get the information on whether donations to our association is tax-deductible in your country. The current official notice of exemption from the tax office Bad Homburg can be found here.

Please note:

The legal provisions state that you are only obliged to submit a donation receipt from our organization to the competent tax office for annually donations over 200 euro. For donations up to 200 euro per year, it will be sufficient to submit your account statement to the competent tax office. Therefore, the organization will only issue donation receipts for donations higher than 200 euro per year. We kindly ask for your understanding for this decision as it will save us significant administrative costs. Please note your complete postal address when transferring donations under ‘purpose of transfer”. Only then our employees will be able to send a donation receipt. In case of regular/frequent donations (e.g. for sponsorships) we will sent a donation-receipt stating all donations of the respective year at the beginning of the following year without further need of notification from your side.

Information on taxation treatment of collective donations

Some of our donations are the result of a campaign to collect donations. For example, school classes collect money, or at a company party some employee promotes our Back to Life projects and asks for donations. These offertories are then transferred to our donation account and we often then receive the request for donation receipts. We like to help and issue the donation receipts given we have a list naming all donators with their full names, addresses and the amount of each donation.

However, we have one restriction as we only issue donation receipts for single amounts higher than 10 euro. Lower amounts simply do not justify the postage and administrative work connected with the donation. We kindly ask for your understanding. For tax law reasons, we are prohibited from issuing a donation receipt for the whole amount to the person transferring the collected donations, as the individual donations were only entrusted to this person during the fundraising campaign with the obligation to forward these donations to us.

On occasions of birthdays, some jubilarians ask their well-wishers and guests for donations for a good cause instead of gifts. Often the jubilarian mentions the charitable organization he or she wishes to be considered, the respective donation account and the intended purpose to identify the donation. Frequently the intended purpose of transfer has a direct reference to the name of the jubilarian. Since the donation is made directly by the donor, there is no problem issuing a donation receipt, given, that the donor has noted his name, first name and his address on the purpose of transfer.

However, if the offertory takes place during the festival, it becomes a donation to the jubilarian, who then redistributes the collected amount to a donation to the charitable organization. In this case, the organization has the right to issue a donation receipt over the full amount to the jubilarian.

WICHTIGE INFORMATIONEN ZUM THEMA SPENDENQUITTUNG

Als gemeinnütziger Verein sind wir berechtigt, Ihnen Spendenquittungen auszustellen. Diese können Sie dem Finanzamt vorlegen, so dass Ihre Spende bei Ihrer Steuererklärung Berücksichtigung findet. Den aktuellen Freistellungsbescheid des Finanzamtes Bad Homburg finden Sie HIER.

Hinweis:

Die gesetzlichen Vorschriften sehen vor, dass Sie nur bei Spenden über 200,- EUR jährlich verpflichtet sind, dem Finanzamt eine Spendenquittung des Vereins vorzulegen. Bei Spenden bis 200,- EUR jährlich genügt Ihr Kontoauszug als Vorlage beim Finanzamt. Der Verein wird daher nur noch Spendenquittungen für Spenden ausstellen, die höher als 200,- EUR jährlich sind. Wir bitten um Ihr Verständnis für diese Maßnahme, dadurch können wir erhebliche Verwaltungskosten sparen. Bitte notieren Sie bei Spenden über unter "Verwendungszweck" Ihre vollständige Postanschrift. Nur dann können unsere Mitarbeiter Ihre Adresse auf dem Kontoauszug lesen und eine Spendenquittung zusenden. Die Jahresspendenquittungen werden jeweils zu Beginn des Folgejahres an unsere Spender versendet.

Auskunft zur steuerlichen Behandlung von Sammelspenden

Einige unserem Verein zugedachte Spenden sind das Ergebnis von Sammelaktionen. Z.B. sammelt eine Schulklasse oder anlässlich einer Firmenfeier wirbt jemand aus der Belegschaft für das ,Projekt Back to Life' und lässt ,den Hut herumgehen". Die aus einer solchen Art von Aktionen resultierenden Summen werden dann auf unser Spendenkonto eingezahlt. Häufig bekommen wir dann vom Initiator der Sammelaktion die Aufforderung nach einer Spendenquittung. Dieser Bitte kommen wir auch gerne nach, immer vorausgesetzt, dass wir eine Liste erhalten, aus der Name, Vorname & Adresse eines jeden Spenders und die Höhe der jeweiligen Spende hervorgeht. Dann stellen wir je Spender die ihm zustehende Quittung aus.

Eine Einschränkung machen wir insofern, indem wir nur Quittungen für Einzelbeträge ab 10,- EUR erstellen. Niedrigere Beträge rechtfertigen einfach nicht die Portokosten und den administrativen Aufwand, den wir sonst betreiben müssten. Wir bitten um Verständnis für diese Vorgehensweise. Aus steuerrechtlichen Gründen ist es uns jedoch untersagt, dem Initiator der Aktion eine Spendenquittung über die Gesamtsumme der Spende auszustellen, da ihm bei der Sammelaktion die Einzelspenden nur treuhänderisch überlassen wurden mit der Auflage, diese weiterzuleiten.

Anlässlich von Geburtstagen verzichten Jubilare häufig auf Geburtstagsgeschenke und bitten ihre Gratulanten und Gäste anstatt um Spenden für einen guten Zweck unter Nennung der zu bedenkenden gemeinnützigen Organisation, deren Spendenkontos und des Verwendungszweckes. Letzterer enthält in der Regel auch einen Hinweis auf den Namen des Jubilars. Da die Einzahlung direkt vom Spender erfolgt, besteht hier kein Problem für das Ausstellen einer Spendenquittung, vorausgesetzt, der Spender vermerkt seinen Namen, Vornamen und seine Adresse auf dem Einzahlungsbeleg. Sollte die Sammlung jedoch während des Festes stattfinden, handelt es sich im ersten Schritt um eine Schenkung an den Jubilar, der im zweiten Schritt den gesammelten Betrag umwidmet in eine Spende an die gemeinnützige Organisation. Letztere hat dann auch das Recht, dem Jubilar eine Spendenquittung über den gesamten Betrag auszustellen.