STELLA DEETJEN: “I’M JUST A NORMAL WOMAN”.

Stella Deetjen works as a German development worker in Nepal and India, is the foundress and managing director of the non-profit organization “Back to Life – Helping others help themselves in Nepal and India” and is the representative of the aid organization. She can also speak six languages fluently, including Hindi and Nepali.

Born in 1970 in Frankfurt/Main, she successfully completed her high school at the Kaiserin-Friedrich-Gymnasium in Bad Homburg and finished her acting education. At the beginning of the 1990s, Stella Deetjen had planned to study photography in Rome. Her place of study was already confirmed and safe. Before the studies started, she traveled for several months as a backpacker through India, where she eventually met the local lepers in Benares (now Varanasi). The encounter with these in India so called “Untouchables” ultimately led to the decision to stay in India and to help the lepers. In 1996, the non-profit organization was finally founded.  

Caring for leprosy patients and their relatives in Benares let to caring for street children. Until December 2017, Back to Life had run children’s homes in cooperation with an Indian partner organization and a total of 13 slum-schools, so called non-formal schools, which considered the daily routines of the slum schools.After 21 years all India projects phased out. In 2009 already, Stella Deetjen expanded her help in Nepal. In the medieval mountain region of Mugu, the organization has already buildt 10 schools and 7 birth centres, in Chitwan the focus is on supporting disadvantaged girl, their schools and the population as a whole of the project area. Through targeted trainings and support – including medical care – the population is taught to help themselves for not creating dependencies in the future. After the earthquake in Nepal, the organization also provided emergency help and reconstructed 7 schools.

In 2016, Stella published her book “Untouchable – My Life Among the Beggars of Benares”, in which she tells about the early years of her work and of the organization. 

This may be of interest to you:

Stella Deetjen: "Ich bin eine ganz normale Frau."

Stella Deetjen arbeitet als deutsche Entwicklungshelferin in Nepal und Indien, ist Gründerin und Geschäftsführerin des gemeinnützigen Vereins „Back to Life e.V. – Hilfe zur Selbsthilfe in Nepal und Indien“ und spricht als Gesicht der Hilfsorganisation sechs Sprachen fließend, darunter auch Hindi und Nepali.

Geboren 1970 in Frankfurt, absolvierte sie ihr Abitur am Kaiserin-Friedrich-Gymnasium in Bad Homburg und schloss eine Schauspielausbildung ab. Zu Beginn der 90er Jahre plante Stella Deetjen ein Fotografie-Studium in Rom anzutreten. Der Studienplatz war ihr bereits sicher. Zuvor reiste sie jedoch mehrere Monate als Backpacker durch Indien, wo sie schließlich in Benares (dem heutigen Varanasi) mit den dortigen Leprakranken zusammentraf. Die Begegnung mit diesen als „Unberührbaren“ führte letztlich zur Entscheidung in Indien zu bleiben und den Leprakranken zu helfen. 1996 wurde schließlich der Verein gegründet.

Dem Engagement für Leprakranke und ihren Angehörigen in Benares folgte die Fürsorge für Straßenkinder. Heute führt Back to Life mit Hilfe einer indischen Partnerorganisation drei Kinderheime vor Ort sowie insgesamt 13 Slumschulen, sogenannte Non-formale Schulen, die sich nach dem Tagesablauf von Slumkindern richten. 2009 richtete sich der Blick von Stella Deetjen zusätzlich nach Nepal. In der mittelalterlichen Gebirgsregion Mugu baute der Verein bereits 7 Schulgebäude und 4 Geburtshäuser, in Chitwan werden gezielt benachteiligte Mädchen, ihre Schulen sowie die Bevölkerung des Projektgebietes unterstützt. Durch gezielte Trainings und Förderungen – inklusive einer medizinischen Versorgung – wird die Bevölkerung zur Selbsthilfe angeleitet, um keine Abhängigkeiten zu erzeugen. Nach den Erdbeben in Nepal leistete der Verein auch Soforthilfe und kümmert sich nun um den Wiederaufbau von bis zu 10 Schulen.

2016 veröffentlich Stella Deetjen ihr Buch „Unberührbar – Mein Leben unter den Bettlern in Benares“, in dem sie von den Anfangsjahren ihrer Arbeit und des Vereins erzählt.

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren: